Late Post, 7/19/16

What inspires me as a blogger to well, blog.

Bud Not Buddy, a story of a boy looking for his father, going only from a handful of stones to guide him along. I only remember this story because it was one of the first ones to really inspire me to be a reader, probably a writer as well come to think about it. We had to read it in middle school English class. Our teacher also had the audio book of it, start of the day we would listen to about five-ten minutes of it, and then write down our thoughts on it.

What really got me into the idea however was J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter.

Yes, go ahead and laugh, but it was what inspired me, now, I never found out about Harry Potter until I watched the first one, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’ s(Philosopher’s) Stone. By the third movie, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, I had found the paperback copies my younger cousin was reading for class. I borrowed them, and wow, so much details, many things left out. Story of a film adaptation all around I know, but still it was a wonderful read. She apparently wasn’t interested in them I suppose, seeing as I found the books just laying there haphazard. She hardly noticed they were missing. It was there, all first four books, and it took me little more than a week to read them all.

I can remember my first Harry Potter book I owned though, it was Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. It took barely 3 days of near constant reading to finish the book. It was a total turn around really, it was then I realized, harry was becoming a teenager.

Yes, it was then things started to change, as Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince showed as our main mentor… Well, spoilers honestly, but I won’t ruin it for those that haven’t read or seen what happens. The thing that gets me though, was that Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows seemed… rushed if I was being a little honest. Sure, some parts were great, and they felt right… and yet others felt awkward and a little lackluster.

Hah, here I am going off tangent. Perhaps this is a Harry Potter review no?

Eh, yeah… So here I am, 25 going to 26, telling a whole host of strangers how I decided to take up writing, or at least blogging. Go figure, it is nearly 2am pst, and I realized I forgot to post the Sunday Post. Perhaps I’ll add a new category specifically for Mad Scientist, for those that wish to read them back to back instead of hunting for them. Give the lad a break yes? It is only his first year blogging, if that, he can still learn. If you have any ideas, or opinions lets see them alright? There is a comment section around here somewhere, I’m sure. Share it with others if you wish, I honestly don’t mind, even a stinging review is a review in the end anyway.

-Kenneth

Leave a Reply

